On Sunday, June 16, 2013 at 2:00 pm Kris Linton will provide a lecture and tour of the Historic Old Stone Church, (Fellowship Hall, First United Methodist Church) at 3rd St and Lead Ave SW, Albuquerque.
On January 8, 1905, this larger stone church, which replaced the original smaller adobe chapel (34 by 54 feet, built in 1880-81), was dedicated. Since construction of another new sanctuary in 1955, which occupies the west side of the block, the 1905 structure has continued to serve as an all purpose room called Fellowship Hall. The windows are a special treasure, reportedly designed by a master student of Louis Tiffany. The window inside the archives room is unique. It was given by members of the Women’s Auxiliary of the Grand Army of the Republic, whose symbols are shown in the panels. The window also reflects the Methodist Church in America that was divided preceding the Civil War into a Northern and a Southern branch over the issue of slavery. First Methodist Church was established by members of the Northern Methodist Episcopal Church. The churches united again in 1939 and the word, Episcopal, was dropped from the name that year. On April 23, 1968, the United Methodist Church was created when the Evangelical United Brethren Church and The Methodist Church merged.